Discovering Marie

Pretty Spectacular Saturday

Posted on: 2014/01/25

I have been quiet for a bit…never fail I am back! Life has been crazy lately and that nuttiness is finally dying down. This past week I made a quilted apron (picture will be posted as soon as I remember where the cable is for my camera…lol), lilac solid perfume, 2 kinds of cookies and have started brainstorming fundraising ideas.

More on the fundraising: My charity of choice is JDRF . My best friend,s youngest daughter was diagnosed with T1D at the age of 5 she is now 17. She asked us last spring if we could do the JDRF Walk to Cure Diabetes. Of course we all said yes. So we all scrambled to raise money in 6 weeks

. Well this year I am trying to get an early start however I am in a quandary: I am  not very comfortable hounding people to donate but it is such a good cause. Last year I made Toddler Pillows and donated all the money I made toward the walk. This year I decided again that making something to sell would be the best option for me. Here is where I am stuck…I am thinking of such things as Potholders, Sunglasses case, Pattern Weights (which could double as bean bag toys for toddlers), Stethoscope covers. I thought that something unisex would be best but the question is what? I am open to suggestions.

My next sewing projects include  coupon organizer, infinity scarf for my nephew’s fiancée, fleece pants for My Love. I am trying to teach myself to crochet, tatting, perfect the solid perfume making and recently joined my favorite author’s Street Team. Which reminds me that I plan on including book reviews/thoughts into my blog. Oops almost forgot I will be meeting my favorite author Heather Wardell this spring to say I am excited is putting it mildly. I will be posting my New Years Resolutions soon. Stay tuned to see what fun things I have planned for 2014.

One more thing before I go. Today the mailman arrived with an unexpected package inside was a beautiful diamond ring I will also be picking up the Anniversary Band that My Love purchased for me in a  matter of a few days. If there is interest I would be more than happy to share pictures of these gorgeous rings with you…just let me know!

 

Celebration of 20 years

Celebration of 20 years

Leave a Reply

Follow Discovering Marie on WordPress.com

My Instagram

It was great after a trying day to come home to squishy mail. As always @deathbyyarn1 has knocked it out of the park. #yarntherapy #indiedyersofinstagram #iloveyarn #crochetersofinstagram #shoplocal

Follow me on Twitter

January 2014
S M T W T F S
« Dec   Feb »
 1234
567891011
12131415161718
19202122232425
262728293031  
