Discovering Marie

Crochet…an update!

Posted on: 2014/05/01

As you may know I have been teaching myself to crochet. It has been going fairly well. I have learned from my mistakes. I no longer crochet everything in a circle. I am now able to do rows. Today I learned the importance of counting stitches. It’s there a such item as a stitch counter to help me keep track?

Last night I attended my first knitting and crocheting Meetup. It was a fun time. It was a designated learning night. That was a big reason I went but….sadly for me everyone else In attendance was a knitter. The ladies in attendance seemed surprised in what I had learned in a week. In fact a couple ladies thought I had been doing it for some time as I looked like I knew what I was doing. I confessed I was feeling like I knew what I was doing….lol. I will definitely attend this Meetup again. The time and location for perfectly into my life and I love that they meet weekly.
I actually had a total of 6 rows done on the fingerless mittens until…..It was brought to my attention that I was skipping the last stitch in some of the rows so I will begin again this evening. I am okay with that too as I am still learning.
Hoping to post a picture again soon.

6 Responses to "Crochet…an update!"

Learning a new thing is so exciting. I need to start back in and learn crochet again. I’ve forgotten almost everything I knew!

You should do it! I am taking that some of what I knew is still with me though I was convinced I lost it. I am having fun and love that I am able to get together locally with others that also Crochet. Hoping this week there are other crocheters…if not that’s okay too as it gets be out socially during the week!

OK, I am looking in the sewing room and seeing if I still have my crochet hook, and I’m just gonna do it! šŸ™‚ See, you done flung a cravin’ on me for it.

Yay! I could always send you one šŸ˜‰

Recently I decided to teach myself how to crochet too. Did get some help initially from my mother with starting out stitches. I’m now trying to figure out magic circles and deciphering crochet terms!
Glad to see another tackling similar things and that I’m not alone after all, haha. Best of luck with your mittens project!

I wish you the best of luck as well. I am utilizing a great book I bought : The Complete Photo Guide to Crochet in addition to YouTube video and now the MeetUp Group. It’s all about learning something new!

Leave a Reply

Follow Discovering Marie on WordPress.com

My Instagram

There was an error retrieving images from Instagram. An attempt will be remade in a few minutes.

Follow me on Twitter

May 2014
S M T W T F S
« Apr   Jun »
 123
45678910
11121314151617
18192021222324
25262728293031
